My Custom PC Build

Happy New Year Everyone!

I hope The Force remains strong within you all throughout 2016


 

A great PC is the dream of every PC Gamer. I personally don’t play many PC games; however, speed, stability, and multitasking are all features I care about nonetheless.

As I have  just recently made a few upgrades to my main Desktop I thought it the perfect time to share my build. I would like to just mention first however, that these prices are all provided via PC Parts Picker, not my own personal experiences.

Over the last year, from when I originally built my PC.  I have added and removed many parts. However,  these are the parts that are in my system at the time of writing this.

CPU: AMD A10-6800K 4.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($119.95 @ SuperBiiz)

Motherboard: Asus A88X-PRO ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($92.89 @ OutletPC)

Memory: Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($102.99 @ Amazon)

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5″ 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($49.98 @ OutletPC)

Case: Ultra Defender II ATX Mid Tower Case (Purchased For $70.00)

Power Supply: Thermaltake SMART 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($67.78 @ Amazon)

Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-14 DVD/CD Writer ($12.99 @ Newegg)

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro OEM (64-bit) ($130.69 @ B&H)

Case Fan: 4 x Corsair CO-9050015-BLED 52.2 CFM 120mm Fan ($11.38 each @ OutletPC)

Fan Controller: NZXT SENTRY 3 Fan Controller ($29.99 @ SuperBiiz)

Monitor: Gateway FHX2303LAbd 60Hz 23.0″ Monitor

Monitor: Upstar P220YM 22 Inch LED Monitor ($109.99)

Speakers: Cyber Acoustics CA-3602 30W 2.1ch Speakers ($39.95 @ Amazon)

Total: $872.72

Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available

Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-12-29 02:53 EST-0500

Note: These prices are subject to change. 

I personally use duplicated displays instead of Eyefinity technology even though both have their pros and cons.

Also, Though usage changes day to day, most often, the larger Gateway uses DVI for streaming games from the  Xbox App and  The smaller VGA Upstar is used for all other tasks such as research, coding, and general browsing.

As you may have guessed the Ultra Defender case comes with two [stock] Ultra Fans which weren’t all that great. One intake up front and one exhaust out the back. I replaced them with the Quiet Edition Corsairs and added a filter to the front intake and even added two additional unfiltered intakes in the top of the case. These all include blue LEDs to match the Glacier style White/Blue theme the case had originally and it matches the NZXT  Sentry 3 coincidentally.

I hope to make lots more upgrades to my device including a true graphics card instead of using the APU’s graphics, Converting to a modular power supply, migrating my boot drive to an SSD, Creating a RAID 1 Volume and so much more.

I hope this post inspires someone to build their own PC or even just provides a few upgrade ideas.  If you already have built one please share in the comments below or send me a message directly. 

My Custom PC Build

Leave a Reply

